top of page

Paper Cup Christmas Trees

I was stupidly excited this morning when the postman brought my delivery of expresso size paper cups! I'd made the prototype with a normal paper cup, but when looking for brown paper cups spotted these expresso cups with brown corrogated card around and thought what perfect tree trunk they would make on the Christmas Tree Craft.

The Christmas tree is a triangle shape made out of half a sheet of A4 card. It's decorated with E's favourite mosiac squares, stars and Christmas buttons - I order buttons at Christmas from direct from China from Amazon sellers, as they are incrediably cheap and good quality. They do take about four to six weeks to arrive, so make sure you order them early enough.

I've cut a slot in the bottom of the cup to slot the tree in.

On the prototype I used a regular paper cup and painted it brown, which did work fine, but made a rather long tree trunk.

It makes a lovely toddler Christmas decoration and the bonus is there is hardly any cutting out to prepare.

Edit: Here are the trees, they are all lying flat to dry, otherwise the decorates slip off the tree :-)

Some of the trees were a little heavy with their decorations on and required a large lollypop stick stuck to the back to the for support.

I've considered a few design alternatives since too... holographic sticker look fab, very easy for little ones if you have a lot of young toddlers and less messy.

My favourite design that's the current trend to have stripy trees, is better for school children rather than toddlers (although my very crafty pre-school did it).

About Crafting Cherubs

I am Catherine, a mother of three children, who has run a toddler group for four years...

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page