top of page

Dancing Ribbon Rings

I've recently joined the rhyme time team at the local library and wanted something for the toddlers to wave about whilst singing to make it a more interactive experience for them. I'd seen similiar rings being sold on Etsy and thought it wouldn't be too difficult to make.

I looked on Ebay for some wooden rings and selected some beech-wood natural plain O ring hoops with a 55mm diametre. These worked out as 50p a hoop. I then bought some five rolls organza 6mm ribbon. I choose organza as it was just over 1.05 for 8m and acts in a floaty manner. If you cut your ribbon into 80cm strips you can get ten out of each spool. This makes the rings cost approximately £1 per ring (June 2016).

My three children (aged 10, 7 and 4) loved dancing with these the week before I ran rhyme time, where they also went down well. The two babies loved watching the floaty ribbon and chewing on the ring, and the toddlers loved waving them about. I also took a handful to the family service at church and handed one to all the non-readers who loved having something to wave about during the hymns.

Great for Rhyme Time.... Church.... Dancing around your home... and the final test, I've now made a set for toddler groups circle music time, so I hope they go down well then too!

Here's a different rainbow song to sing whilst waving your ribbons at Rhyme Time or your music time... The tune is Heads, Shoulders, Knees and Toes:

About Crafting Cherubs

I am Catherine, a mother of three children, who has run a toddler group for four years...

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page