top of page

Mini-Beast Songs

I no longer run toddler group, but I do occasionally do Rhyme Time for toddlers at the local library and I'm always on the look out of themed songs. Here are the best of the different mini-beast songs that I've found.

The books I used in the Rhyme Time were:

* The Very Hungry Caterpillar * ARRGGH Spider! by Linda Monks * Ten Little Ladybirds * Butterfly by Mick Inkpen

Can You Move With Me (Tune: Do your Ears Hang Low?)

Can you wiggle like a worm? Can you squiggle? Can you squirm? Can you flutter? Can you fly like a gentle butterfly? Can you crawl upon the ground Like a beetle that is round? Can you move with me?

Can you flip? Can you flop? Can you give a little hop? Can you slither like a snake? Can you give a little shake? Can you dance like bee Who is buzzing round a tree? Can you move with me?

 

The classic mini beast story is the very Hungry Caterpillar... this song is to the tune of Old MacDonald, so the caterpillar goes munch-munch, snore-snore, and flutter-flutter!

The Very Hungry Caterpillar Song

(Tune: Old MacDonald Had a Farm)

The Very Hungry Caterpillar went out one day - E-I-E-I-O! He ate a lot of food on his way - E-I-E-I-O! With a munch-crunch here and a munch-crunch there! Here a munch, there a crunch, everywhere a munch-crunch! The Very Hungry Caterpillar went out one day - E-I-E-I-O!

The Very Hungry Caterpillar went out one day - E-I-E-I-O! He made a cocoon and he slept away - E-I-E-I-O! With a snore-snore here and a snore-snore there! Here a snore, there a snore, everywhere a snore snore! The Very Hungry Caterpillar went out one day - E-I-E-I-O!

The Very Hungry Caterpillar went out one day - E-I-E-I-O! He turned into a butterfly and fluttered away - E-I-E-I-O! With a flutter flutter here, and a flutter flutter there! Here a flutter, there a flutter, everywhere a flutter flutter. The Very Hungry Caterpillar went out one day - E-I-E-I-O!

 

Our next song has lots of mini-beasts in this new song, and you could easily come up with lots of different verses, but I choose to go with bees, ants and worms.

The Bees On the Flowers Go Buzz, Buzz, Buzz (Tune: The Wheels on the Bus)

The bees on the flowers go buzz, buzz, buzz, Buzz, buzz, buzz, buzz, buzz, buzz. The bees on the flowers go buzz, buzz, buzz, All around the garden.

The ants in the grass go march, march, march, March, march, march; march, march, march. The ants in the grass go march, march, march… All around the garden.

The worms in the mud go wiggle, wiggle, wiggle, Wiggle, wiggle, wiggle; wiggle, wiggle, wiggle. The worms in the mud go wiggle, wiggle, wiggle… All around the garden.


 

I love this spider song, you can put lots of expression in when you sing and it makes a change from Incy Wincy Spider and Little Miss Muffett. There are other verses, but I think five is quite enough for toddlers. My children like to make up there own verses too.


There's a Spider on the Floor

There’s a spider on the floor, on the floor. There’s a spider on the floor, on the floor. There’s a spider on the floor, I can’t see it any more. There’s a spider on the floor on the floor. There’s a spider on my knee, on my knee. There’s a spider on my knee, on my knee. There’s a spider on my knee, and he’s crawling over me. There’s a spider on my knee, on my knee.

There’s a spider on my tummy, on my tummy. There’s a spider on my tummy, on my tummy. There’s a spider on my tummy and it really isn’t funny. There’s a spider on my tummy, on my tummy.

There’s a spider on my hand, on my hand. There’s a spider on my hand, on my hand. There’s a spider on my hand, and he’s playing in a band. There’s a spider on my hand, on my hand.

There’s a spider on my head, on my head. There’s a spider on my head, on my head. There’s a spider on my head, oh I wish I was dead! There’s a spider on my head, on my head.

 

Ladybird Rhyme

Ladybird, ladybird on the tree. Fly down here and sit with me. Rest on my hand, I’ll count your spots. 2-4-6-8 polka-dots!

 

I-2-3-4-5 Bees Come Buzzing from the Hive (Tune: 1-2-3-4-5 Once I Caught A Fish Alive)

1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Bees come buzzing from the hive 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Buzz around and back in again Please tell me Busy Bee Why you buzz so busily Peep in the hive to see We’re making honey for your tea.

 

Butterfly, Butterfly, Flutter Around (Tune: Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, Turn Around)

Butterfly, butterfly, flutter around. Butterfly, butterfly, touch the ground. Butterfly, butterfly, fly so free. Butterfly, butterfly, land on me! Butterfly, butterfly, reach the sky, Butterfly, butterfly, say good-bye.

 

The authors of these songs are all unknown.

About Crafting Cherubs

I am Catherine, a mother of three children, who has run a toddler group for four years...

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page