top of page

Cupcake Liners Suncatchers

Well I say cupcake, but I'm from Yorkshire, so we call them buncases, but I'm living in the south of England where they are fairy cake cases!

We made some great crepe paper leaf suncatchers at toddler group in the Autumn - these went down really well and I love having E's in my window at home, so I started to think about making one for the summer term.

My original plan was to make flowers, but we have an average of 35 children each week and after cutting out a set of flowers for E, I concluded this would be a lot of work. The smaller darker flowers are made out of wrapping paper.

So back to the drawing board... I love the way the light shine through the bun cases, so thought it would be nice and easy just to do circles - the only then required then is squashing the cases down. We also added shiney mosiac squares as this is a toddler favourite and can be used to fill in spaces.

You could also do this using sticky backed plastic but since toddler group has a laminator, it works out cheaper and easier. However, with the first two suncatchers we made, both got stuck in the laminator. This didn't happen when we used the crepe paper leaves and I think it's because bun cases are thinner.

Back to the drawing board again, thankfully J wanted to make one, this time we put a strip of cardboard at the top, this meant that the suncatcher went through the laminator with no problems and will also be handy at toddler group for writing the childrens names on.

Finally, hole punch and add a ribbon for hanging.

About Crafting Cherubs

I am Catherine, a mother of three children, who has run a toddler group for four years...

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page