top of page

Little Fishy

Little Fishy in a bowl

This is a craft I've been holding onto for nearly a year; I couldn't quite get it viable for toddler group, so I've sat on it a bit. You can find several fishbowl templates on Pinterest - I used this one from Stuck-on-Glue blogspot.com.

You can see from the pictures below how this craft has developed from the original under the sea picture that my three year old made... This include a porcupine puffa in the bottom left, and jellyfish made out of a plastic bag and gift ribbon in the top right. The spotty paper is cut up fairy cake cases.

I felt this had too many components to translate into a toddler group craft and thought we could take the fish and weed parts into a fishbowl.

The next version we used buttons to use make gravel and fairycake cases to make the weed and fins... I then sat on this craft for two terms as I had two concerns - the cost of the buttons for the ground and whether the toddlers / parents were going to confuse fins / tails and weed.

Our final take, we scrapped the fins, and used green crepe paper for the pond weed cut in wavy lines.

The fish are 5cm in diameter and have used spotty fairy cake bun cases cut into segments for the their tails fins.

I was going to use scrunched up tissue paper for the gravel, when I remembered we have some left over magic maize, so we went for this as it's less preparation. Magic Maize sticks down when dabbed on a wet sponge - but too wet it disintegrates, however it will still stick with a glue stick and keep its form.

Little Fishy in a bowl

The journey of the little fishy craft...

Here are the fish bowl pictures the toddlers made at toddler group today:

About Crafting Cherubs

I am Catherine, a mother of three children, who has run a toddler group for four years...

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page